After today listening to the speech by the Prime minister of Australia, Julia Gillard, regarding sexism and misogony in our Parliament, I take the unusual step of re-blogging this post I made on Oct5th.

Kate Loveday

After today listening to the speech by the Prime minister of Australia, Julia Gillard, regarding sexism and misogony in our Parliament, I take the unusual step of re-blogging this post I made on Oct5th.   

For many ordinary Australians, today is a day to feel profound sadness and anger. Today Jill Meagher will be buried, quietly, in a private ceremony. This young married woman was raped and murdered whilst walking home from a night out with friends in Brunswick, a Melbourne suburb. This dreadful crime has caused caused horror throughout Australia and in many parts of the world, especially in Ireland, her home country.

Perhaps it should provoke us  to look at the treatment of women all over the world.

Sometimes I despair that true equality between the sexes will ever be a fact of life. No, I don’t mean I wish men and women were the same – I enjoy the fact that they’re…

View original post 450 more words

Leave a Reply

